Copyright reform in Poland - what do the changes mean for libraries?
EIFL webinar on the key benefits for libraries in Poland’s new copyright law

You are here

NEXT EVENT
Event Date: 29 Jun 2016
Online
Photo of Barbara Szczepanska in the library at Hogan Lovells
Photo: Barbara Szczepanska

Webinar: Learn how Poland’s new copyright law brought library services in Poland into the twenty-first century. The guest speaker is Barbara Szczepanska who advocated for libraries during the two-year public consultation process.

As manager of a project supported by the EIFL Copyright and Libraries Programme, Szcezepanska was at the forefront in defining the library copyright position, building the evidence base, and ensuring that librarians participated fully in the consultations. Quick link to registration.

WHAT WILL THE WEBINAR COVER?

The webinar will set out the context for copyright reform in Poland, and will cover the most important changes from a library point of view.

The topics include:

  • the two year reform process;
  • new provisions for the benefit of libraries and educational institutions;
  • implementation of the European orphan works directive, including procedures and diligent search requirements;
  • new provisions for works that are out-of-commerce;
  • introduction of a public lending right in Poland;
  • extension of the right of quotation;
  • abolition of the paying public domain.

Barbara Szczepanska, our guest speaker, is Library and Information Services Manager at Hogan Lovells (Warsaw) and EIFL Copyright Coordinator in Poland.

REGISTRATION INFORMATION

Date: Wednesday, 29 June 2016

Time: 9am UTC (9am Dakar / 10am Dublin / 11am Frankfurt / 11am Warsaw / 12 noon Vilnius / 1pm Yerevan. Check the time in your country by going here and comparing UTC to your time with your city/country time. The session will last for one hour, including time for questions.

How to register: To register, please click here. You will also find information on how to log on to the webinar.

WHO MAY PARTICIPATE?

The session is open to librarians and colleagues in any country. If the webinar is oversubscribed, priority will be given to librarians in EIFL-partner countries.

The webinar will also be recorded for viewing later online.

HOW THE WEBINAR WORKS

All you need to join the webinar is an Internet-connected computer with sound (and maybe headphones, if you are in a busy room).

We will use Adobe Connect to connect. To check that your browser will successfully access the session, please click here. If the first three steps of the test pass, then you are ready to participate in the webinar.

The webinar is kindly hosted by Nicolaus Copernicus University in Toruń, Poland.

BACKGROUND

Poland’s new copyright law, that entered into force in November 2015, brought library services in Poland into the twenty-first century.

The centrepiece for libraries of the new legislation are provisions that enable digitization for socially beneficial purposes, such as education and preservation of cultural heritage. The new law also implements two important European Directives.

Crucially, the library community participated for the first time in high-level policy discussions on copyright, a fact reflected in many places in the public consultation report that accompanied the new draft law. As a result, librarians became recognized as important stakeholders in a national reform process.

In a project supported by the EIFL Copyright and Libraries Programme, Barbara Szczepanska, Project Manager, has been at the forefront in defining the library copyright position, building the evidence base, and ensuring that librarians participated fully in the consultations.

Recommended reading: